Sign in to

Remember me Physician of the Year Award

2014 Mission:MD Physician of the Year Honorees

Presented by, the Mission:MD Physician of the Year Award honors physicians who donate their time to help underserved patients in the United States and abroad gain access to critically-needed healthcare services. Each honoree with receive $10,000 to donate to the medical missions-related charity of his choice.

International Service Honoree

Dr. Darius Maggi West Africa Fistula Foundation
Dr. Darius Maggi
Denison, TX

Dr. Darius Maggi is a retired OBGYN from Denison, Texas. Since 2002, he has made 39 trips to Bo, Sierra Leone to help women suffering from fistulas, a painful gynecological condition that occurs after prolonged period s of obstructed childbirth, mostly in third-world country. The condition leads to incontinence in women, and their families and villages often shun them as a result. Dr. Maggi founded the West Africa Fistula Foundation in 2004 to further support these women. More than 1500 have already had corrective surgery, leading to better lives.

Domestic Service Honoree

Dr. M. Todd Crump The Free Medical Clinic
Dr. M. Todd Crump
Emergency Medicine
Columbia, SC

Dr. Todd Crump began volunteering at the Free Medical Clinic in 1997 while a student at the University of South Carolina Medical School. In addition to volunteering and fundraising, he serves as the medical director of the clinic which has 7,100 active uninsured patients who would otherwise go without care. In addition to his volunteer work, Dr. Crump is also an Emergency Medicine physician at Lexington Medical Center in Columbia, S.C.