Quick job search

The Future of the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact

By: Brittany Griffith | Updated on July 15, 2021

The Future of the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact

The COVID-19 pandemic necessitated states getting physicians to hospitals as quickly as possible to help patients and assist full-time, permanent staff. For this reason, many states chose to temporarily reduce and, in some cases, even eliminate in-state licensing requirements and accept any state’s medical license to speed up the process.

Many states realize the value of accessible interstate licensing during the pandemic

These changes mirror a licensing solution that has existed for the past six years, which became operational four years ago, called the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC), “an agreement among participating U.S. states to work together to significantly streamline the licensing process for physicians who want to practice in multiple states.” The IMLC helps improve access to care for patients and access to licensure for qualifying physicians.

Now that so many states and healthcare facilities across the country have realized the benefits of making multi-state licensing more accessible for clinicians, many working in healthcare are wondering what the future looks like for the IMLC. Currently, 33 states, the District of Columbia and the Territory of Guam are Compact member jurisdictions, with Ohio being the most recent state to join the Compact. But before looking ahead at what the future holds, it is important to understand what exactly the Compact is and how physicians can take advantage of it right now.

Need help navigating the IMLC? Our recruiters can help!